CONNECTICUT BAR EXAMINING COMMITTEE REGULAR MEETING HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT JULY 13, 2018

The Treasurer, Denise Martino Phelan, called the public portion of the meeting to order at 10:06 a.m. (EDT). Present were Richard F. Banbury, Hon. Nina Elgo, Eric M. Gross, Karen L. Karpie, Hon. C. Ian McLachlan (Ret.), Gail E. McTaggart, David A. Moraghan, Robert D. Silva, Hon. Elliot Solomon, Frederic S. Ury, Matthew Wax-Krell, and Perry Zinn Rowthorn. Present by invitation were: Jessica F. Kallipolites, Administrative Director; and Lisa Valko, Assistant Administrative Director.

Upon motion duly made by Mr. Zinn Rowthorn, seconded by Mr. Gross, it was voted unanimously to accept and record, without amendment or correction, the minutes of the public session of the Regular Meeting of May 4, 2018.

The Administrative Director presented the projected versus actual budget for fiscal year 2017-2018.

At 10:16 a.m., member Michael J. Whelton arrived. At 10:20 a.m., member Edward J. Gavin arrived.

The Administrative Director indicated that the preparations for the July 2018 exam are well underway and that the exam will be held at the Convention Center on July 24th and 25th, 2018. It was noted that the number of applicants is down from last July, while the number of applicants requiring non-standard testing accommodations is up. The number of applicants that will be sitting in Connecticut for both days of the exam is much higher than previous administrations. Discussion was had regarding the increase in the number of applicants requiring non-standard testing, including the cost and logistics associated with providing such accommodations.

The Assistant Administrative Director presented updated information regarding the number of applicants transferring a UBE score for admission to Connecticut who failed the UBE in the jurisdiction in which it was administered.

Upon motion duly made by Ms. Phelan, seconded by Mr. Whelton, it was voted unanimously to adjourn the public portion of the meeting at 10:30 a.m. (EDT) and to reconvene in the non-public portion of the meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

MATTHEW WAX-KRELL Secretary