CONNECTICUT BAR EXAMINING COMMITTEE SPECIAL MEETING – Conducted via ZOOM HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT <u>OCTOBER 9, 2020</u>

The Chair, Hon. Anne C. Dranginis (Ret.), called the public portion of the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m. (EDT). Present were Raymond L. Baribeault, Jr., Campbell D. Barrett, Kevin C. Connors, Hon. Nina Elgo, Edward J. Gavin, Eric M. Gross, Karen L. Karpie, Gail E. McTaggart, David A. Moraghan, Denise Martino Phelan, Timothy P. Pothin, Perry Zinn Rowthorn, Amir Shaikh, Alix Simonetti, Hon. Elliot Solomon (Ret.), Fred Ury, Abby M. Warren, and Matthew Wax-Krell. Present by invitation were: Kathleen B. Harrington, Deputy Director, Attorney Services; Jessica F. Kallipolites, Administrative Director; and Lisa Valko, Program Manager.

Discussion was had concerning the October 2020 remote bar examination that was administered on October 5 and 6, 2020. Four hundred (400) applicants sat for the exam, with thirty-three (33) candidates taking the exam in hotel rooms with reimbursement from the Committee and seven (7) candidates taking the exam in space offered by local law firms and the Connecticut Bar Association. All candidates were able to successfully take the exam and upload their files and videos by the deadline. Results will be released on December 11, 2020 during a Special Meeting. Admission will be conducted using the in absentia process. Staff will coordinate with the Clerk's Office to have the motion signed the day results are released for the initial group of applicants that are complete and that achieved a passing score on the exam.

Upon motion duly made by Mr. Gavin, seconded by Ms. Simonetti, it was voted unanimously to waive the fee to transfer scores from the October 2020 remote bar examination and to revisit the fee waiver issue again next year. Upon motion duly made by the Chair, seconded by Mr. Ury, it was voted unanimously to approve the draft transfer form with fee waiver language.

Upon motion duly made by the Chair, seconded by Ms. Simonetti, it was voted unanimously to adjourn the public portion of the meeting at 1:28 p.m. (EDT).

Respectfully submitted,

KAREN L. KARPIE Secretary